Mathew Lynn

Mathew Lynn lives and works in Blackheath in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney Australia.  Described by critic John McDonald as one of Australia’s most capable portraitists, he works on public and private commissions in Australia and the UK, and has been a finalist fourteen times in the Archibald Prize for Portraiture, held annually at the Art Gallery of New South Wales. Twice a runner-up and also voted Peoples Choice in this competition, the Archibald Prize has perhaps the highest profile of all Australian art prizes.  He also won the Packers Prize in 2013 with a portrait of Tara Moss. His portraits can be found in major institutions, including the National Portrait Gallery Canberra and Government House Sydney and he has been included on the register of artists for the Historic Memorials Committee (Australia Council for the Arts).

In June 2010 he won the Shirley Hannan National Portrait Award (Bega Valley Regional Gallery) for his portrait of sinologist and author Pierre Ryckmans, judged by writer and art critic John McDonald.  More recently he was a finalist in the 2014 Archibald Prize with his portrait of artist Ken Unsworth.

He also works with the landscape/seascape and the figure in paintings and drawings.  More recently he has begun to explore a more contemporary approach in figuration, often through transformations extending from his experience in portraiture.  In 2012 and 2014 he was a finalist in the Jacaranda Acquisitive Drawing Award, in 2012 a finalist in the final Dobell Prize for Drawing, in 2013 he was a finalist and commended in the Adelaide Perry Prize for Drawing and was also a finalist in 2014.  Invited to submit for the 2013 Kedumba Drawing Award, his work was acquired by judge Angus Nivison for the Kedumba Collection of Australian Drawings. In 2015 he was one of 14 artists invited to submit a work for the Bell Shakespeare Company’s 25th anniversary celebrations, a nationally touring exhibition The Art of Shakespeare. In September 2014 the official portrait was unveiled of Her Excellency Professor The Honourable Dame Marie Bashir AD, CVO  Governor of NSW.